We are PrestaShop 1.7 Ready!!

As of today (2017.01.01), all our modules have been upgraded to supprt PrestaShop 1.7x except a few deprecated moduless.

How To Upgrade Agile PrestaShop Modules

General Information

 1.  No business related data in your current database will be deleted during the uninstall process.

When you uninstall any PrestaShop module provided by Agile, it will not delete any database tables, records, or store data generated by the module. This is a safety precaution, because data is a very precious asset of your store.  So, when you reinstall the module or a module update, all historical store data still resides in the database.

 2.  All current configuration information will be deleted.

When you uninstall any PrestaShop module, including those from Agile, all module configuration data will be deleted from the database. This is necessary to avoid unexpected results when upgrading.  Configuration data is separate from, and should not be confused with, store data.

Note:  When you uninstall a module, but will at some future point reinstall that module (or an upgrade), it is recommended that you note all configuraton items/settings of the module for future reference.

 

Module Upgrade Instructions

1. Backup your store files and database:

As a best practice, it is always recommended that you backup your site and database whenever you are about to make changes in your system in case you need to restore to a working version.

At a minimum, you need to backup the existing module folder if you have any translations and/or customizations applied to the module. Some modules may also have data included in the module folder.

You will also need to note the current module configurations/settings if you want to use the same settings after reinstalling the module.

2. Uninstall the old version of the module:

Click on the Modules tab, search for the module to be removed, and click the "Uninstall" link that appears to the the right of the module name.  The module list will be redisplayed.

Note: If the modules are disabled by PrestaShop during upgrade, you have to enable it first and then Uninstall it.
 

3. Delete old version of the module:

Click the "Delete" link that appears below module name.

Use the file manager of your control panel or an FTP client to confirm that all files were deleted.

4. Install the new version:

Follow the instructions in the install_en.txt file included in your module packge ZIP file to reinstall the module.

5. (Optional) Restore the translations file or data file:

We usually save all store related data in the database. There are, however, certain files that may need to be restored, such as:

  -  Translations file

  -  Email templates which are under the mails folder

6. Disable all caches and set Smarty to "force compile " temporarily:

In order make the new theme files take effect, you will need to set Smarty to "force compile" and temporarily disable Smarty cache.

Click the following link to see more on how to accomplish this.

http://addons-modules.com/content/19-how-to-disable-enable-smarty-and-force-compile

Test the new module by accessing the pages related to the module, so that the new theme files will be compiled by Smarty and to check that the module functions are working correctly.

7. Restore smarty setting:

In order to get the best performance from your store, after the module functionality has been tested it is highly recommended that you set Smarty to use cache and to not force compile.

 

Thanks for using our Agile modules.

If you have any further questions or issues that you can not resolve after reading all of our user guides and tips, please post your questions in our support forum- Agile Support Forum.

 

Related Links

How to install Agile PrestaShop modules

Installation trouble shooting tips

General trouble shooting tips